BREEAM in the Washroom Part 1: What is BREEAM?

4 years ago


What is BREEAM?

 BREEAM was founded in 1990, and was the first sustainability assessment method for buildings, which it continues to do today, covering masterplanning projects, infrastructure and buildings. It addresses a number of lifecycle stages such as New Construction, Refurbishment and In-Use.

The BREEAM assessment process evaluates the procurement, design, construction and operation of a development against targets that are based on performance benchmarks. Assessments are carried out by independent, licensed assessors, and developments rated and certified on a scale of Pass, Good, Very Good, Excellent and Outstanding.

The framework covers the following 10 areas:

1. Energy

2. Health & Wellbeing

3. Innovation

4. Land Use

5. Materials

6. Management

7. Pollution

8. Transport

9. Waste

10. Water


This section's main aims are to reduce potable water consumption over the lifetime of the building and to minimise water loss through leakage.

The weighting of this section varies, being the most important on new build schemes, and refurbishments less so.

The water section is split into 4 Issues

  • 1. Water Consumption
  • 2. Water Monitoring
  • 3. Water Leak Detection
  • 4. Water Efficient Equipment

Each can earn varying amounts of credits, with the first point, water consumption providing the largest opportunity, at a maximum of 5 Credits.

Water Savings which contribute to the BREEAM scheme can come from various sources in the washroom.  


Part 2 of this series will cover the various sources, and how many credits each can earn.


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required